News & Events

India Singapore Hackathon 2018: Solutions for Humanity Sowing the Seeds of Future Partnership

HIGH Commission of India



India Singapore Hackathon 2018: Solutions for Humanity

Sowing the Seeds of Future Partnership

During his official visit to Singapore from 31 May-02 June 2018, H E Prime Minister of India, Shri Narendra Modi, proposed to H E Prime Minister of Singapore Mr. Lee Hsien Loong that India and Singapore should organise a Joint Hackathon to harness and show case the innovation potential of our youth. The proposal was welcomed by PM Lee. Singapore side designated Nanyang Technological University (NTU) and its innovation and enterprise arm – NTUitive, to conduct the Hackathon. Indian side designated All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE) to conduct the Hackathon. High Commission of India in Singapore facilitated the event in collaboration with Ministries of Education and Foreign Affairs of Singapore.

2. 20 teams each from both countries comprising university and college students selected on nationwide basis are participated in the Hackathon. Each team had 3 students and 1 dedicated mentor.

3. These 120 participants participated in the 36-hour long Hackathon working on 20 Problem Statements on 12-13 November ending with the Grande Finale on 14 November 2018. From India, an 83 member delegation comprising 60 students from AICTE approved institutions, IITs and NITs; 20 mentors and 3 officials of AICTE visited Singapore for the Hackathon.

These problem statements for the Hackathon were in the areas of mapping, synchronised output of diverse social media, shared digital identity verification, effective number estimate, space management and allotment, effective learning, personal security were based on campus scenarios which students could easily relate to. However, the solutions emerged will act as seeds to address larger problems in these areas in society.

On 14 November, top 6 teams (3 each from India and Singapore) were chosen after a final pitching session. First prize of S$ 10000, second prize of S$6000 and third prize of S$4000 was announced for each of the three winners from India and Singapore.

The Winning teams from India are from IIT Kharagpur, NIT, Trichy and MIT College of Engineering, Pune.

The Winning teams from from Singapore were from Nanyang Technological University and the Singapore University of Technology and Design.

PM Modi presented the awards to winning teams on 15 November in an Awards Ceremony in Singapore.

H E Education Minister of Singapore, Mr. Ong Ye Kung was present at the Award Ceremony along with President of Nanyang Technological University Mr. Subra Suresh; Chairman of All Indian Council of Technical Education Mr. Anil Sahasrabuddhe High Commissioner of India to Singapore Mr. Jawed Ashraf.